Wyoming Legion Baseball returns for a full season in 2021

American Legion Baseball is back! The 2021 season starts this weekend and lasts into August.

After a slightly different 2020 season, teams and legionary staff should have a more normal season this year.

The American Legion baseball’s Double A (‘AA’) level in Wyoming will consist of the same eight teams.

Casper, Evanston, Jackson, and Rock Springs are in the West Division. Cheyenne, Gillette, Laramie, and Sheridan will be in the East Division.

All conference games in 2021 will be a home series and a home series that will include two 7-inning games as part of a double header. All teams will play 12 conference games to determine their seed at the state tournament.

The state tournament will take place July 26-30, 2021 at Cowboy Field in Laramie.

At the winter meeting, the rotation for the AA state tournament was announced. Evanston will have it in 2022, followed by Sheridan in 2023, Jackson in 2024, Casper in 2025, Cheyenne in 2026, Gillette in 2027, and Rock Springs in 2028.

Gillette will host the ‘AA’ Pacific Northwest Regional at Hladky Stadium from August 3-8, 2021. The tournament will host national champions from Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, two from Washington, Wyoming and the host team, the Gillette, will host drivers.

The Single A (‘A’) tier of Legion baseball consists of 12 teams in four divisions. The northeast is Casper, Douglas and Riverton. The southeast will be the Cheyenne Hawks, Torrington, and Wheatland. The Northwest Division has Cody, Lovell, and Powell. The Southwest Division consists of Bridger Valley, Rawlins, and Green River.

All teams play the other two from their division in conference games. These will be home and home series with two 7-inning games as part of a double count. All teams play eight conference games. These determine the sowing at the district tournaments.

There will be two district tournaments on July 16 and 18, 2021. These are double elimination classes with 6 teams to determine the four teams from each side of the state that will advance to the A-state tournament. The East District tournament takes place in Wheatland while the West District tournament takes place in Lovell.

The single-A-state tournament will take place July 24-28, 2021 in Cheyenne at Powers Field. As the host team, the Cheyenne Hawks will automatically receive a bid for the state tournament. The A-State tournament alternates between East and West. The ‘West’ will host in 2022.

Single-A level coaches also agreed to play an all-star game. This competition takes place one week after the state tournament.

Both levels ‘AA’ and ‘A’ use the regional / national modified double elimination bracket.

The B-Legion Baseball State Tournament will take place in Gillette from July 15-19, 2021. As hosts, the Gillette Rustlers automatically get a berth. All Level B players must be born in 2004 or later.

The Legion “C” baseball state tournament will be held July 15-19, 2021 in Rock Springs. As a host, Rock Springs will automatically be given a berth. All Level C players must be born in 2006 or later.

Both levels use a standard double elimination bracket to determine their champion.

The roster deadline for teams in Wyoming ends June 20, while the National Legion deadline ends July 1, 2021.

The Wyoming American Legion Baseball is accepting applications for the Hall of Fame. You can find the application at wyolegionbaseball.com. The deadline for submitting a nomination is June 15th.

It’s time to play ball!

LOOK: The most famous actor born every year

Comments are closed.