Greenberg and Ellis attend the Ohio High School Sports Awards

Two-time ACC Coach of the Year and ESPN College Game Day analyst Seth Greenberg and ESPN analyst and former NBA player LaPhonso Ellis will host the Ohio High School Sports Awards presented by Mercy Health. You will join a familiar voice for Ohio State University Buckeyes fans, Paul Keels, who will announce award winners for more than 25 sports.

The Ohio High School Sports Awards are part of the largest high school sports recognition program in the country. Elite athletes in most government-sanctioned sports will be honored in an on-demand streaming broadcast on the event website on Thursday, July 15 at 8:00 p.m. EDT.

More:NBA Champion and MVP Kevin Garnett joins the list of celebrity athletes and announces the winners of the Cincinnati High School Sports Awards

Greenberg is an ESPN basketball analyst, a member of the College GameDay team, and a former college basketball coach. Prior to joining ESPN, Greenberg coached basketball for 34 years, the last 22 years of which as the head coach at Long Beach State, the University of South Florida and Virginia Tech. He scored four wins against the No. 1 teams and set a 170-123 record in his nine seasons with Virginia Tech, and was twice named ACC Trainer of the Year.

In the 1992 NBA Draft, Ellis was selected fifth by the Denver Nuggets. In his rookie season he averaged 14.7 points, 9.1 rebounds and 1.4 blocks and was called up to the All-Rookie First Team 1992-93. He played professionally for 11 years and then became an ESPN college basketball analyst in 2009.

Keels serves as the radio voice for the Ohio State University soccer and men’s basketball teams and also hosts the Buckeye Roundtable, Ryan Day Show, and Chris Holtman Show. He is a four-time Ohio Broadcaster of the Year Award recipient and a member of the Ohio Broadcasters Hall of Fame.

The Ohio High School Sports Awards is a nationwide program for the recognition of student athletes. The Ohio show will be after the regional shows including the Central Ohio High School Sports Awards, Cincinnati High School Sports Awards, Greater Akron High School Sports Awards, Portage County High School Sports Awards, Stark County High School Sports Awards and the Wayne and Holmes County High School Sports Awards.

The Ohio statewide show recognizes the best athletes across the state, which means some of the local winners could also be honored on the statewide show. Ohio’s Athletes of the Year and Ohio’s Total Male and Female Athletes of the Year will automatically be recognized in the inaugural USA TODAY High School Sports Awards and are among the nominees for national awards.

The selection of winners for state-sanctioned sports featured on the show will be announced on the event website in early July.

The show is free to watch on any smart device or computer thanks to support from sponsors including Mercy Health.

Celebrity Announcers Who Will Also Be Part Of The Ohio Show Include:

  • NBA Champion, MVP and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2020 new entry Kevin Garnett
  • Three-time NFL MVP Aaron Rodgers
  • The two-time soccer world champion Alex Morgan
  • Katie Ledecky, five-time Olympic swimming champion
  • The three-time Olympic champion Kerri Walsh Jennings
  • Chipper Jones, inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame
  • Youngest wrestling gold medalist and world champion Kyle Snyder
  • US women’s gymnastics gold and silver medalist Laurie Hernandez
  • Three-time pro bowler and two-time first-team all-pro outside linebacker TJ Watt
  • Most successful tennis player of the open era Martina Navratilova
  • Olympic gold and silver medalist and softball world champion Jennie Finch
  • Amanda Magadan., Midfielder for the U.S. women’s national field hockey team
  • Three-time MVP, world champion and co-founder of the Premier Lacrosse League Paul Rabil
  • Hockey Hall of Famer Martin St. Louis
  • Four-time Olympic gold medalist and eight-time World Cup gold medalist Michael Johnson
  • 14-time national champion Cheer Coach Monica Aldama
  • Olympic and four-time world ski champion Lindsey Vonn
  • Four-time PGA Tour winner Ryan Palmer
  • American ultramarathon runner Dean Karnazes

Comments are closed.