Aftab Pureval will go to the mayoral election in November in Cincinnati after a successful area code | Global Indian

Hamilton County Court Clerk, Ohio, Aftab Pureval, faces the November 4th election after making a promising appearance in Cincinnati mayoral election on May 4th.

According to unofficial election results at press time, Pureval had won 39 percent of the vote, well ahead of longtime Cincinnati city council member David Mann, who won 29 percent, with all counties reporting on the city’s results.

The two advanced in front of the field of six candidates to lead the third largest city in the state – a non-partisan city that is democratically oriented.

Other candidates included former Cincinnati policeman and Democratic State senator, Cecil Thomas, businessman Gavi Begtrup, retired firefighter Raffel Prophett, and educator Herman Najoli.

Pureval, a former Democratic Congress candidate and man who previously served as Cincinnati Mayor and also in Congress, succeed John Cranley. After an eight-year tenure, he is fixed-term, the Associated Press reported.

Top issues include running the city as the inner city begins to open up after the pandemic closes and eradicating corruption after four council members have been charged on federal grounds since February 2020, the report said.

Pureval, 38, is a former federal attorney and in-house attorney at Procter & Gamble. The Indian American also ran for Congress in 2018 and started a high-profile race against Republican Steve Chabot.

Pureval earned his degree in political science from Ohio State University, where he served as president of the student body.

He later received his law degree from the University of Cincinnati College of Law.

He previously worked as a Special Assistant US attorney for the Department of Justice.

The 81-year-old man previously served as Mayor of Cincinnati from 1980 to 1982 and 1991. He was a member of Cincinnati City Council from 1974 to 1992, elected in 2013 and re-elected in 2017. He was also the representative of the Ohio Congressional District. (1993-1995).

Comments are closed.